Summer is here and fruits and vegetables are near!

After one long and horrible winter, it is great that summer finally arrived. The Allentown park program is starting up soon and with summer here, fruits and veggies are near! I’ll be back again this season working with the Fruits and Veggies On-The-Move truck, a program started by the Allentown Health Bureau four years ago to provide fresh fruits and vegetables to inner-city children in Allentown.

I was so pleased with how successful my blog was last year that I decided to start it up again this summer! I am planning on doing the same format that I did last year, for example, talk about what I delivered that week along with the children’s reactions and a special fruit or veggie of that week. This year I would like to add some great healthy recipes that I have created or found and give some ideas for fun and educational lessons that you can do with your child this summer.

Each step you make to encourage your child to eat fruits and vegetables will help them to gain lifelong habits of healthy eating! I hope that my blog will help push healthy eating for not just your child but for your entire family as well. After all, “a healthy outside starts from the inside” (Robert Urich).

Enjoy!

This is a picture of me last year ready to give out all the cups I made filled with yummy fruits and vegetables.

This is a picture of me last year ready to give out all the cups I made filled with yummy fruits and vegetables.

Leave a Reply

